• Lead In Public
  • Posts
  • 🤸 The IC trap, redefining success, & a positive morning message

🤸 The IC trap, redefining success, & a positive morning message

Hey — it’s Cristina & Jenni.

Each week, we share leadership reflections, resources, and laughs to help you excel in your role (+ have fun along the way).

As two tech leaders, we’re here to “lead in public” by sharing what we’re learning in our day-to-day roles, encouraging others to do the same, and learning and growing as leaders together.

Enjoy!

What we’re reflecting on this week

Countless new managers make the same exact mistake when they first start out.

While well intended, this mistake kills their productivity and robs their team members of valuable opportunities to grow.

I call it the “IC trap.”

When I started my first management role at a SaaS company, I was promoted from an IC role.

As an IC, I was good at what I did and knew everything there was to know about our product.

On the frontlines, I took pride in my ability as a doer. I got things done efficiently, and others came to me as a go-to resource for leveling up their product knowledge.

So, what happened when I landed myself in management?

I kept applying the same skill set because it made me feel helpful, needed, and productive. My team pulled me in frequently for subject matter expertise.

Okay, so... what's the mistake? Everyone was happy, right?

Turns out I wasn't promoted into management to continue being a successful IC 😅

I was promoted to lead the team and to help them develop the skills they need to crush it at their jobs 🚀

It wasn't until I landed a leadership role at a new company (where I was no longer a product expert) that I truly understood this.

Now, I see many first-time managers doing the same thing without realizing it.

To avoid the IC trap as a manager, ask yourself these 3 questions:

  1. Am I the ONLY person who can do this effectively?

  2. Can I teach someone to fish instead of fishing myself?

  3. What other priorities will I NOT have time for if I do this?

This simple reflection exercise helps keep you focused on leading, not ICing, while prioritizing time and fostering team growth.

→ How can you leverage these questions in your day-to-day to avoid the IC trap?

What we’re learning this week
What we’re enjoying this week

We have this positive morning message on repeat to start each day off right 🌞

That’s it for this week — thanks for reading.

See you next Thursday! 🤸‍♀️

Reply

or to participate.